Aikido

Ki Aikido – a year later

ki1It seems like only yesterday I have made the decision to start practicing the art of Ki Aikido, yet over a year has passed since then. I have had ups and downs, a few bruises here and there, gone from frustration to excitement and I must say – it was well worth it!

Ki Aikido is one of the rare martial arts that promotes non-violence and peace. Basically you learn fighting skills with a goal and intention to never use them ๐Ÿ™‚ A true Ki Aikido master avoids conflict at all costs. Fighting techniques are used only if diplomacy fails, and even then the goal is not to harm the attacker, yet to disable him in a gentle and caring way.

I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate my one year anniversary than attending a three day Ki Aikido seminar in Belgrade held by sen-sei Kenjiro Yoshigasaki,ย founder of the Ki No Kenkyukai Association International.

It was a thrilling experience. During the three days we were practicing for two hours, twice a day. Sensei Yoshigasaki has taught us some great new techniques and shared some of his wisdom. I was so amazed by the things he said – some of his words still linger on in my mind.

Taking Aikido lessons has for sure been the best decision I have made regarding my self-confidence, spirit and overall health. If you are interested in making a good change in your life, look up an Aikido dojo in your town and attend at least one class – that’s how long it took me to get hooked ๐Ÿ™‚

Standard

7 thoughts on “Ki Aikido – a year later

  1. Carl says:

    Thank you for your words on Ki Aikdo. I studied Lee style Tai Chi and related health arts until I moved with my wife to Cornwall where unfortunately I found the local Tai Chi classes to lack substance and to be paying lip service to the art I had come to love.

    I joined a Shin Gi Tai Aikido class and although the teachers and students were friendly I was coming away with moderate sprains that were not healing by next week’s class. this took me by surprise from an art that was based on internal energy over external force.

    I am currently continuing with Lee style Tai Chi alone, communicating with my distant teachers by email and online resources and DVDs, but I know this is not ideal and I lack the opportunity to train with others.

    There is a Ki Aikido class in nearby Penzance, but I stand at a crossroads – whether to try the Ki Aikido or stay with the Tai Chi I have come to love.

    • Mike says:

      To Carl,

      Shin Shin Toitsu Aikido as it is properly referred to as Ki-Aikido is truly a peaceful art similar to Tai Chi. The key to practicing Ki-Aikido properly is to make sure you have mind and body coordination. Usually, the correct sequence would be for the practitioner to start out in a Ki class and then Aikido. Ki-Aikido also emphasize on posture work too, which differs from some form of Tai Chi. Carl, if you want to practice Ki-Aikido, make sure that you discuss your past martial arts experience, which in this case is Tai Chi with them before proceeding.
      The Ki-Aikido posture, especially taught at Ki no Kenyukai association IS NOT compatible with Tai Chi. I am a Tai Chi practitioner myself and my Chief Instructor knew this. He repeatedly warned me to shed away my Tai Chi posture and adapt this Aikido completely to prevent further injuries, because the internal art will only work fully if you use their posture completely and faithfully. Suffice to say, I decided to discontinue my studies with him. No hard feelings, but I also come to love Tai Chi and personally, I didn’t like the Aikido instructor attitude either. He seemed to think that only Ki-Aikido is the best martial art and nothing else is better. He also said that I will only change if someone defeats me. My Chi-master once told me that if someone thinks like this way, politely bow and leave. Don’t waste anytime with him or her.

  2. Carl Duffin says:

    having come through an interesting path, i find myself back full circle with a very humble but very able and challenging teacher of Hatha Yoga (Anusara Inspired). thsi is where my path into the internal arts began and I have found my way back there. coming home is always a good feeling, especially after a long journey.

Leave a comment